NewHunter

Camo on a rifle hunt?

As you can tell by the name, I am new to hunting. I put in for the first time in my life last year and shot a high 80s buck from 405 yards. Really, it was the perfect scenario for me. My bro-in-law is a big time hunter and he basically did all of the work for me. He glassed for me (I didn’t shoot any that he glassed, although we almost got a chance), let me use his pack, his 300 RUM, his binos, his everything…

He basically gave me the easy way to start a hunting career, and now I am hooked on it.

This year, he has a trophy hunt for both Elk and Coues, so naturally he is spending all of his time working on that. I can’t blame him, and I am actually excited to do it on my own.

I have already spent time glassing and will spend more time. I have purchased a rifle (.270 Weatherby) and have just about everything I need (equipment-wise) for a successful hunt. I am going with a friend that has never hunted before, so neither of us are big on experience. Here are some of my questions, just looking for general opinions…

I am confident with my rifle out to 300 yds or so. I would like to get as close as possible to tell you the truth, if I find a buck to shoot. What do you all think of camo? My pack is Advantage Max-1, which I like. Not so much looking for a pattern, just wondering if it is needed or not for a rifle hunt.

My hunt is early Nov, Unit 31 (high desert mountain area for those that aren't familiar).