Sign in to follow this  
jessefrost32

Bear Hunting Units

I am planning to go on an OTC Black bear hunt the third week of Oct. I want toi know where the best places to have a successful hunt are. This is my first year hunting Black Bear. I do not care about trophy or not, I just want meat. I have done some looking at 19B, 17B and 17A. Out of these options which would be the best? The more detail in the description the better. Like I said, I am a novice to bear hunting. Or if someone is willing to go with me and teach me, I will split the meat. 

The August hunts are best if the prickly pear has fruit on them,you can glass them up pretty easy. By the time October rolls around the fruit is usually gone and the bears with it. They'll be eating acorns, Manzanita, cedar berries and harder to find at that time.the better units are 6a,22,23,24a. I would try to go in one of those units next August, start scouting and looking for prickly pear fruit towards the end of july-mid August in middle elevations

• Like 1

On 9/1/2024 at 1:42 PM, jessefrost32 said:

I am planning to go on an OTC Black bear hunt the third week of Oct. I want toi know where the best places to have a successful hunt are. This is my first year hunting Black Bear. I do not care about trophy or not, I just want meat. I have done some looking at 19B, 17B and 17A. Out of these options which would be the best? The more detail in the description the better. Like I said, I am a novice to bear hunting. Or if someone is willing to go with me and teach me, I will split the meat. 

If you only want the meat, buy some beef from the grocery store, it will be cheaper and taste better. 

• Like 5
  • Thanks 1